This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Aveyron (Department, France)

Last modified: 2019-05-08 by ivan sache
Keywords: aveyron | rouergue |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 12
Region: Occitanie (Midi-Pyrénées until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Guyenne-et-Gascogne
Bordering departments: Cantal, Gard, Hérault, Lot, Lozère, Tarn, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 8,736 km2
Population (2016): 278,697 inhabitants

Préfecture: Rodez
Sous-préfectures: Millau, Villefranche-de-Rouergue
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 23 cantons, 285 municipalities.

The department is named after river Aveyron (250 km), a tributary to the Tarn.
On 4 November 1808, the canton of Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val was transferred from the department of Aveyron to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2019

Flag of Aveyron

The services of the Departmental Council of Aveyron confirmed on 15 April 2019 that the Council does not use any flag.

Olivier Touzeau, 16 April 2019

Flag of the former General Council


Former flag of the General Council of Aveyron - Image by Philippe-Pierre Darras & Ivan Sache, 25 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Aveyron was green with the Council's logo in the middle.
The former logo of the General Council of Aveyron, which was changed in 2005, is a white rectangle with a green, smaller rectangle, charged with an orange-yellow letter "A" and the white writing "AVEYRON", surmounting the white writing "CONSEIL GENERAL" and a thin horizontal green stripe.

Ivan Sache, 25 September 2009



Flag of Rouergue - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 21 February 2019

The coat of arms of Aveyron was assigned by Jacques Meurgey de Tupigny & Robert Louis in Marques symboliques des départements français, as "Gules a leopard or". The department of Averyon having, more or less, the same limits as the traditional province of Rouergue, the arms of the province were re-used to represent the department. During the Middle Ages Rouergue changed hands a number of times, its rulers including England (due to the Treaty of Brétigny in 1360), Armagnac and Languedoc.

The banner of arms of Rouergue can be seen on several monuments, for example the castle of Bertholène (photo).

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 21 February 2019

Route des Seigneurs du Rouergue


Flag of the Route des Seigneurs du Rouergue - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 21 February 2019

The Route des Seigneurs du Rouergue (Route of the Lords of Rouergue) is a tourist itinerary established in Aveyron, grouping 21 sites in Rouergue. Some sites are privately owned, others owned by public bodies. They are signatories of a charter and fly a promotional flag (photo, castle of Najac).

Olivier Touzeau, 21 February 2019