This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lot (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-06-26 by ivan sache
Keywords: lot |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 46
Region: Occitanie (Midi-Pyrénées until 2014)
Traditional province: Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Aveyron, Cantal, Corrèze, Dordogne, Lot-et-Garonne, Tarn-et-Garonne

Area: 5,217 km2
Population (2016): 173,347 inhabitants

Préfecture: Cahors
Sous-préfectures: Figeac, Gourdon
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 17 cantons, 313 municipalities.

The department is named after river Lot (480 km), a tributary to the Garonne.
On 4 November 1808, the cantons of Bourg-de-Visa, Caussade, Caylus, Lafrançaise, Lauzerte, Moissac, Molières, Monclar-de-Quercy, Montauban, Montpezat-de-Quercy and Nègrepelisse were transferred from the department of Lot, which lost nearly one fourth of its territory, to the new department of Tarn-et-Garonne.

Ivan Sache, 12 April 2019