This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tarn-et-Garonne (Department, France)

Last modified: 2016-11-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: tarn-et-garonne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 82
Region: Occitanie (Midi-Pyrénées until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Guyenne and Gascony, Languedoc
Bordering departments: Aveyron, Haute-Garonne, Gers, Lot, Lot-et-Garonne, Tarn

Area: 3,718 km2
Population (2006): 222,999 inhabitants

Préfecture: Montauban
Sous-préfecture: Castelsarrasin
Subdivisions: 2 arrondissements, 30 cantons, 195 communes.

The department is named after rivers Tarn (375 km) and Garonne (650 km).
The department was created by Imperial Decree of 21 November 1808 with parts of the neighbouring departments of Lot (cantons of Bourg-de-Visa, Caussade, Caylus, Lafrançaise, Lauzerte, Moissac, Molières, Monclar-de-Quercy, Montauban, Montpezat-de-Quercy and Nègrepelisse), Haute-Garonne (cantons of Beaumont, Castelsarrasin, Grisolles, Montech, Saint-Nicolas, Verdun and Villebrumier), Lot-et-Garonne (cantons of Auvillar, Montaigu-de-Quercy and Valence), Gers (canton of Lavit) and Aveyron (canton of Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val). The history said that the notables from Montauban were very angry not to have a department capital; the legend says that Napoléon accepted their request and immediatly outlined the new department on a map of France with his thumb.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009