This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Federation of Arab Republics (1 July 1972 - March 1977)

Last modified: 2020-08-02 by ian macdonald
Keywords: federation of arab republics | egypt | libya | syria |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Description of the flag

A red-white-black horizontal tricolor with the hawk of Quraish looking to the hoist (at the right side) on the white band with a small inscription of the name of the country below.

History of the F.A.R.

Beginning in 1972 Egypt, Libya, and Syria all used the Red/White/Black horizontal tribar with the hawk of Quraish in gold in the middle. Libya gave up this flag during the "Green Revolution" in 1977, Syria went back to the two green stars in 1980, and Egypt altered the bird to an eagle in 1986. During that period of the early 1970's, these three flags of the "Federation of Arab Republics" differed very slightly from one another. They all had the eagle, shield, and ribbon with the legend "Federation of Arab Republics" in Arabic, but the Egyptian version added the name of that state below the ribbon, and the Libyan version added the name of Libya in a border below the ribbon. [smi75]
Nick Artimovich, 8 March 1996