Last modified: 2021-05-01 by rick wyatt
Keywords: ayer | massachusetts | middlesex county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
I came across an article announcing a flag design contest for Ayer, MA: www.nashobapublishing.com/auto/news/ci_23478778/ayer-needs-town-flag. More information about the contest can be found here: www.ayer.ma.us/Pages/AyerMA_Bcomm/Hist/index
Andy S., 17 June 2013
image from www.state.ma.us/bsb/images/Ayer.jpg
A white flag with the town seal in the center. It consists of a black and white illustration of the library, and the town name and dates around it. Above the seal is written 125th Anniversary, and in the lower corners the dates 1871 and 1996. Ayer is in Middlesex County.
From the Homepage:
"Ayer's history dates back to 1667 when the first mill, used to grind corn in the agricultural community, was built. The Town was incorporated in 1871 and was named in honor of Dr. James Cook Ayer, a prominent resident of Lowell who provided the funding for the recently restored Ayer Town Hall. The Town's growth was influenced by a period of rapid development of railroad transportation. Though only 9.5 square miles in area the Town became a major junction for both east-west and north-south rail lines, and developed into an important commercial center oriented towards the rail industry. During the Civil War an army camp, Camp Stevens, was established here that later became known as Camp Devens and eventually as Fort Devens. The presence of thousands of military and civilian personnel on the base shifted Ayer's commercial development towards meeting their needs until Fort Devens' closed in 1994.Dov Gutterman, 26 November 2002
The Town today is a reflection of its history. Within its relatively small area the Town boasts numerous industries, a thriving, historical downtown, unique to the region and modern commuter rail service to Boston"
image located by Valentin Poposki, 14 February 2021
The sesquicentennial of the Town of Ayer, Massachusetts, was celebrated on 14 February 2021.
Valentin Poposki, 14 February 2021
image located by Paul Bassinson, 3 May 2020
Paul Bassinson, 3 May 2020