This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Rucandio (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-01-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: rucandio |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Rucandio - Image from the Escudos y Banderas de la Provincia de Burgos website, 22 February 2014

See also:

Presentation of Rucandio

The municipality of Rucandio (78 inhabitants in 2012; 3,263 ha) is located in the north of the Province of Burgos, 20 km from Oña and 60 km from Burgos. The municipality is formed of the villages of Rucandio (27 inh.; capital), Herrera de Valdivielso (10 inh.), Hozabejas (15 inh.), Huespeda, Madrid de Caderechas and Ojeda.

Ivan Sache, 22 February 2014

Symbols of Rucandio

The flag and arms of Rucandio are prescribed by a Decree adopted on 15 April 2003 by the Municipal Council, signed on 24 June 2003 by the Mayor, and published on 15 July 2003 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 135, p. 9,960 (text).
The symbols are described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular (or, 1x1), horizontal. Upper part or, charged with a blue stripe, and lower part green, charged with a stripe argent. In the middle of the flag is placed the municipal coat of arms.
Coat of arms: Or, a tree vert fructed or, surrounded by two waves azure (cataracts). A bordure vert charged with six towers argent and four six-pointed stars of the same arranged as shown on the design [not attached to the electronic source]. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

After man, the tree is the main "character" of Rucandio. The fructed tree represents the Reinette apple-tree, but could also be a cherry- tree, a pear-tree, a nut-tree, or a quince-tree. Firewood and timberwood trees are also important, such as the pines used in the salterns of Poza de la Sal. The field or emphasizes the fruit tree.
The two cataracts are locally known as the Cataratas or Caderechas.
The green bordure represents the grain fields and the pastures that contribute to the income of Rucandio.
The six towers represent the six villages forming the municipality, while the four stars recall the four deserted villages.
The Royal crown is the symbol of the Kingdom of Spain.

Ivan Sache, 22 February 2014