This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County and Municipal Flags of Maryland (U.S.)

Last modified: 2024-06-15 by rick wyatt
Keywords: maryland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no known flag.

County flags:

Municipal flags:

See also:

County colors

A few yeas ago when researching the history of the Calvert County flag (Maryland, US) [Nelson, 2002], I came across a reference to colors assigned to the counties then in existence by the colonial legislature. Either by intent or by circumstance, the following counties still use the colors assigned by the colonial legislature as the base color of their flag: Anne Arundel, Calvert (where the flag is officially described yellow and sable not gold and sable as in the state flag), Cecil (crimson), Dorchester, Kent, Somerset (Somerset actually described only as "the Union") and St. Mary's. Similarly the circular inset on the flag of Talbot County follows the prescribed "purple". Of the counties at this time, those counties not presently using their original county colors in their flags would include Baltimore (green) and Charles (orange).

These colors were to be used originally to identify the horse, foot and dragoons raised by the county governments when it was necessary. [In the colonial era, each county was responsible for raising a local militia for its defense as well as the common colonial defense, hence the colors.

Phil Nelson, 24 March 2008