This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Creuse (Department, France)

Last modified: 2024-03-23 by olivier touzeau
Keywords: creuse | marche |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 23
Region: Nouvelle-Aquitaine (Limousin until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Marche, Berry
Bordering departments: Allier, Cher, Corrèze, Indre, Puy-de-Dôme, Haute-Vienne

Area: 5,565 km2
Population (2016): 119,502 inhabitants

Préfecture: Guéret
Sous-préfecture: Aubusson
Subdivisions: 2 arrondissements, 15 cantons, 256 municipalities.

The department is named after river Creuse (265 km), a tributary to the Vienne.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2019

Flag of the territorial mark

[Flag]    [Flag]

[Flag]    [Flag]    [Flag]

Flags of the territorial mark of Creuse - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 8 March 2019

No flag can be boserved on the departmental council's building. However a flag with departmental symbols was observed during the local demonstration for equality of rights of women and men on march, 9, 2022.
The flag is white with the territorial mark “L’Esprit Creuse” (pun on the word Creuse: “The Creuse spirit” and “the spirit digs”) and below the logo of the departmental council (adopted in 2017). The flag has these emblems in a single colour and several variants exist in different colours (photo, photo).

Olivier Touzeau, 24 March 2022


The flag of the province of Marche is often observed in the department, for example in Guéret (photo, photo).

Olivier Touzeau, 24 March 2022