This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Puy-de-Dôme (Department, France)

Last modified: 2019-05-09 by ivan sache
Keywords: puy-de-dôme |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Puy-de-Dôme - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 2 May 2019

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 63
Region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (Auvergne until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Auvergne, Bourbonnais
Bordering departments: Allier, Cantal, Corrèze, Creuse, Loire, Haute-Loire

Area: 7,970 km2
Population (2016): 650,700 inhabitants

Préfecture: Clermont-Ferrand
Sous-préfectures: Ambert, Issoire, Riom, Thiers
Subdivisions: 5 arrondissements, 31 cantons, 464 municipalities.

The department is named after the ancient volcano Puy-de-Dôme (1,465 m asl).
When created in 1790, the department should have been called "Mont-Dore", but the proposal was rejected. The Representative Jean-François Gaultier de Blauzat (1739-1815) argued that "Mont-Dore" could be read "Mont-d'Or" (Gold Mountain) and sound too wealthy.

Ivan Sache, 14 April 2019

Flag of Puy-de-Dôme

The Departmental Council uses a white flag with the Council's logo (photo).

In 2015, General Councils were renamed to Departmental Councils. The Departmental Council modified its logo, replacing the words "Conseil général" by the words "Le Département".
The logo represents both a leaf and very stylized volcanoes in green and red. It symbolizes the rurality and the eruptive force of the department.

Olivier Touzeau, 2 May 2019

Flag of the former General Council


Flag of the former General Council of Puy-de-Dôme - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 2 May 2019

A white flag with the Council's logo (photo), which was modernized in 2008, has been observed since at least 2010 in front of the seat of the General Council.
Earlier, in 2006, the General Council flew the flag of Auvergne in front of its building (photo).

Olivier Touzeau & Pascal Vagnat, 2 May 2019