This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Schoonrewoerd (The Netherlands)

Leerdam municipality, Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: schoonrewoerd |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Schoonrewoerd flag] by Jarig Bakker, 18 Sep 2004
adopted 16 May 1969; design: Mr. J.F. van Heyningen See also:

Schoonrewoerd former municipality

Schoonrewoerd is a former municipality in Zuid-Holland province in the so-called "Vijf-heerenlanden"; since 1986 it is part of the municipality of Leerdam.
A flag was adopted 16 May 1969, design by Mr. J.F. van Heyningen.
Description: Two stripes red-yellow, lengthwise proportioned 1:2; the stripes divided by an at least 4 times embattled line, with over all a blue stripe of 1/9 flagheight, charged with a yellow crown of five leaves.
The Coat of Arms shows in gold two red embattled and counterembattled fesses. A flag like that had already been adopted by Leerdam. The red-yellow stripes have been derived from the arms. The blue stripe, added by a proposal of the "Stichting voor Banistiek en Heraldiek", represents the Huibert "boezem" (system of reservoirs for superfluous polder-water), dug in the Middle Ages and now filled up in the village center. The five-leaved crown symbolizes the "Vijf Heeren" (five lords)
of the region.
Schoonrewoerd was founded in the 11th century by Jan van Arkel (there were many nobles from that family with that name). As a lordship of the van Arkel family Schoonrewoerd received the arms of that family.
Other (former) municipalities with similar arms are:
Ammerzoden (Ge), Arkel (Zh), Dongen (Nb) (no relationship with the van Arkels), Hagestein (Zh), Hoenkoop (Utr), Hoog-Blokland (Zh), Hoornaar (Zh), Kedichem (Zh), Leerbroek (Zh), Ottoland (Zh), Renswoude (Ut), Vuren (Ge).
Jarig Bakker, 18 Sep 2004

Schoonrewoerd Coat of Arms

[Schoonrewoerd Coat of Arms] by Jarig Bakker, 18 Sep 2004
granted 24 Jul 1817