This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hagestein (The Netherlands)

Vianen municipality, Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: hagestein |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Hagestein flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 2 Nov 2003
adopted 4 Nov 1973; design: H. van Heijningen & Kl. Sierksma
  See also:

Hagestein former municipality

On 1 Jan 1986 Vianen, Everdingen and Hagestein merged to form the new municipality of Vianen. Hagestein had 1.000 inhabitants, in the "Vijfheerenlanden on the Lek river, SE of Vianen. Hagestein was the only settlement, the municipal seat was in Everdingen. Hagestein, now part of Vianen, used to be a very rural area. Some friends have reminiscences of a village tombola, where nearly everybody won huge quantities of village-products, mainly agricultural and meat-stuff. Hagestein received city-rights in the Middle Ages, but those were revoked in 1420. Hagestein is also known for its system of locks in the Lek river.
Flag: a hoist of five horizontal stripes of white and red, and a fly of five stripes of blue and yellow; the red and white stripes 1, 2, 4, and 5 at least five times embattled and connected, adopted 4 Nov 1973 by municipal resolution.
Source: Derkwillem Visser's "Gemeentewapens en vlaggen Koninkrijk der Nederlanden", 2001.
Jarig Bakker, 2 Nov 2003

On 1 Jan 2002 the municipality of Vianen moved from the province of Zuid-Holland to Utrecht province.
Hans Kluit, 20 Feb 2007

Designed by me in red-white; Mr. Kl. Sierksma added the Dutch national colors.
H.v.Heijningen, 24 Feb 2007

Hagestein Coat of Arms

[Hagestein Coat of Arms] image by Jarig Bakker, 2 Nov 2003
Granted 11 Sep 1816.