This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oostburg (The Netherlands)

Sluis municipality, Zeeland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: oostburg |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Oostburg municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

See also:

Oostburg municipality

Oostburg is the result of a merger of the former municipalities of Biervliet (partly - rest went to Sas van Gent and Terneuzen), Breskens, Cadzand, Groede, Hoofdplaat, IJzendijke, Nieuwvliet, Schoondijke, Waterlandkerkje and Zuidzande (1970).
On 1 Jan 2003 Oostburg merged with the municipality of Sluis-Aardenburg and became part of the new municipality of Sluis.

Oostburg [former municipality]

Oosterburg 1923 -1971 Shipmate Flagchart :
from 1923 - 1971

Biervliet [former municipality]

former Biervliet Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted Jun 1962

Flagdescription: quartered of yellow, white, red and black.
This flag was adopted Jun 1962 by municipal resolution. The colors are derived from the municipal arms. The reason for quartering is at the one hand the form of the cross in the arms, on the other had the invention of curing of herrings by Willem Beukelszoon of Briervliet in the 14th century: a cross-cut is essential for this practice.
Source: Sierksma's Nederlands Vlaggenboek, 1962.

Biervliet Coat of Arms

[Biervliet Coat of Arms] image from this website.

Breskens [former municipality]

former Breskens Shipmate Flagchart :

Breskens Coat of Arms

(Breskens Coat of Arms] image from this website.

Groede [former municipality]

Groede former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

IJzendijke [former municipality]

IJzendijke former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Waterlandkerkje [former municipality]

Waterlandkerkje former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Waterlandkerkje Coat of Arms

[Waterlandkerkje Coat of Arms] image from this website.

Zuidzande [former municipality]

Zuidzande village Shipmate Flagchart :