This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Presidential Standard (Malta)

Last modified: 2013-08-03 by rob raeside
Keywords: president | coat of arms (malta) | maltese cross (yellow) | cross: maltese (yellow) | crosses: 4 (maltese) | crosses: 4 (yellow) | crown: mural (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Presidential Standard (Malta)] 2:3 image by António Martins

See also:


The presidential standard was adopted 28 October 1988.
Jaume Ollé
, 30 March 1997

From the Maltese Government Official Website:

The Presidential Flag of Malta was introduced by Proclamation dated 12th December, 1988. This flag is flown on the President's official residences and offices and on all occasions at which he is present. It has the same proportions as the National Flag and consists of a blue field with the Emblem of Malta at its centre; and a Maltese Cross in gold in each corner.

The President of Malta has a blue flag in the 2:3 ratio, with the arms of Malta in the centre and a golden Maltese cross in each corner.
Adrian Strickland
, 30 November 2000

President's Flag 1974-1988

[Malta] 2:3 image by António Martins

Malta did not have a personal flag for the President, in the interim years 1974 to 1988. On the 12th December 1974, Malta became a republic within the British Commonwealth, and the then Governor General, Sir Anthony Mamo, became the President. The President flew the Malta flag until the personal flag for the President was introduced in 1988. The Prime Minister, then and now still flies the national flag, which in the earlier days made his vehicle indistinguishable from that of the President.
Adrian Strickland
, 5 April 1997