This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Potchefstroom (South Africa)

Boer Republic (1838)

Last modified: 2011-06-24 by bruce berry
Keywords: potchefstroom | burgersvlag |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Potchefstroom flag] image by António Martins, 04 Jun 1999

See also :

Burgers flag (1874 - 1875)

The Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek's (ZAR) flag of 1874/75 was also called "Burgers flag", referring to President Burgers who implemented it.
Carsten Linke, 11 Oct 1996

During this short period of time (about a year), and thereafter alongside the vierkleur (literally 4 colour), the Burgers flag was the official flag. In 1875 the vierkleur became official again, and the Burgers flag was referred to as the President's flag.
Franc van Diest, 04 Mar 2001


The village of Potchefstroom was founded on 22 December 1838 by the leader of the Voortrekkers, Andries Hendrik Potgieter. The later Boer Republic used a slightly changed Voortrekker flag. The white stripes were added for heraldic motivations, for two 'colours' (in this case blue and red) should always be divided by a metal (here silver or white) and vice versa. Moreover in this way the Dutch colors could be adopted in the flag. Potchefstroom  later became the first capital of Transvaal.  President T. F. Burgers tried to replace the Transvaal 'Vierkleur' (4-coloured flag) with this one. 
Jarig Bakker, 30 Mar 1999