This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

New Caledonia (France): Local flags

Last modified: 2021-04-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: new caledonia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


According to the Constitutional and Ordinary Laws of 16 February 1999, New Caledonia is divided in three provinces administrated by Provincial Assemblies, whose reunion forms the Congress of New Caledonia:
- The North Province (9,582.6 sq. km), made of the northern part of Grande Terre and the archipelago of Bélap, with 41,413 inhabitants, that is 21% of the population of New Caledonia;
- The South Province (7,012 sq. km), made of the southern part of Grande Terre and Île des Pins, with 134,546 inhabitants, that is 68.4% of the population of New Caledonia;
- The Loyauté Islands Province (1980.9 sq. km), made of the four islands of Maré, Lifou, Ouvéa and Tiga, with 20,877 inhabitants, that is 10.6% of the population of New Caledonia.

Ivan Sache, 27 March 2006


  • Kaala-Gomen
  • Koné
  • Kouaoua
  • Koumac
  • La Foa
  • Lifou
  • Maré
  • Moindou
  • Mont-Dore
  • Nouméa
  • Ouégoa
  • Ouvéa
  • Païta
  • Poindimié
  • Ponerihouen
  • Pouébo
  • Pouembout
  • Poum
  • Poya
  • Sarraméa
  • Thio
  • Touho
  • Voh
  • Yaté

Customary Areas

  • Ajië-Aro
  • Djubéa-Kaponé
  • Drehu
  • Hoot Ma Waap
  • Iaai
  • Nengone
  • Paici-Camuki
  • Xaracuu

The eight customary areas are the result of the Matignon-Oudinot Agreement signed in 1988. These are special subdivisions parallel to administrative subdivisions. Their operation is set by the Constituional Law of 19 March 1999.
Each Area is represented by a Customary Council, whose duties are defined by Articles 149 to 152 of the Constituional Law of 19 March 1999. The composition of the Council is determined according to the uses specific to the Customary Area. The Customary Council appoints its President and establishes its seat. The Customary Council may be consulted by the Customary Senate on any issue raised by the latter; it can also be, and on all subjects, consulted by the High Commissioner, the Government, the President of a Provincial Assembly or a Mayor; any administrative or judicial authority can also consult it on the interpretation of customary rules.
[Hoot Ma Whaap Customary Area]

Valentin Poposki, 23 August 2020