This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Vaucluse (Department, France): Intermunicipal Authorities

Last modified: 2019-12-20 by ivan sache
Keywords: vaucluse |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Index of the Intermunicipal Authorities

  • Communautés d'agglomération (3)
    • Grand Avignon
    • Luberon Monts de Vaucluse
    • Ventoux-Comtat Venaissin
  • Communautés de communes (10)
    • Aygues Ouvèze en Provence
    • Enclave des Papes-Pays de Grignan
    • Pays d'Apt-Luberon
    • Pays des Sorgues et des Monts de Vaucluse
    • Pays Réuni d'Orange
    • Rhône-Lez-Provence
    • Sorgues du Comtat
    • Territoriale Sud-Luberon
    • Vaison Ventoux
    • Ventoux Sud

Grand Avignon


Flag of Grand Avignon - Image by Ivan Sache, 18 May 2019

Grand Avignon (16 municipalities; 193,712 inhabitants in 2016; 30,681 ha; website) was established in 2001, succeeding the Communauté de communes established in 1995 by the municipalities of Avignon (seat), Le Pontet, Morières-les-Avignon, and Saint-Saturnin-lès-Avignon. They were joined in 1997 by Caumont-sur-Durance; in 2001 by Vedène, Jonquerettes, and Villeneuve-lès-Avignon. While the founding municipalities are all located in Vaucluse, on the eastern / left bank of river Rhône, Villeneuve-lès-Avignon is located in Gard, across the Rhône.
Grand Avignon was further joined in 2003 by Velleron (Vaucluse), Rochefort-du-Gard, and Les Angles (Gard); in 2004 by Saze (Gard); in 2009, by Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue (Vaucluse); in 2014, by Pujaut and Sauveterre (Gard); and in 2017, by Roquemaure and Montfaucon (Gard), the latter leaving in 2019.

The flag of Grand Avignon (photo) is white with the authority's logo, which is composed of a green rectangle inscribed with "grand avignon" on white letters, the initials bigger, and, beneath, "communauté d'agglomération" in black letters.

Ivan Sache, 18 May 2019



Flag of Rhône-Lez-Provence - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 25 February 2017

The Communauté de communes Rhône-Lez-Provence (R.L. P.; 26,192 inhabitants in 2014; 15,010 ha) is made of five municipalities: Bollène (seat, 13,574 inh.), Lamotte-du-Rhône (406 inh.), Lapalud (3,863 inh.), Mondragon (3,856 inh.), and Mornas (2,403 inh.)

The flag of the Communauté de communes Rhône-Lez-Provence (photo) is in proportions 1:2, white with the logo of the authority.

Olivier Touzeau, 25 February 2017