This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tardajos (Municipality, Castilla y León, Spain)

Last modified: 2019-01-13 by ivan sache
Keywords: tardajos |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Tardajos - Image from the Escudos y Banderas de la Provincia de Burgos website, 12 March 2014

See also:

Presentation of Tardajos

The municipality of Tardajos (834 inhabitants in 2012; 1,280 ha) is located in the center of the Province of Burgos, 10 km from Burgos.

Tardajos is the site of the Celtiberian town of Deobrigula, established by the Turmogi. Originally built on a hill located between rivers Arlanzón and Urbel, the town was moved down after to the plain after the Roman conquest. Deobrigula is the diminutive form of Deobriga, a town established by the neighbouring Autrigones.
The town is mentioned by Ptolemy (II, 6, 51) and on the Antonine Itinerary (449, 6; 454, 3), as located on ways XXXII and XXXIV, between Segisamone (Sasamón) and Tritium (Monasterio de Rodilla). The identification of Deobrigula with Tardajos, proposed by Solana in 1976, was confirmed by recent excavations. Earlier proposed sites for the old town are Rabé de las Calzadas and Lodoso (L. Sagredo San Eustaquio. Las monedas con leyenda ibérica en Deobrigula, HAnt XXIX-2005, 27-42).
The archeological site of Deobrigula in Tardajos was declared a place of cultural interest by a Decree adopted on 11 November 1992 by the Directorate General of Cultural Heritage and Promotion, published on 23 November 1992 in the official gazette of Castilla y León, No. 226 (text).

Ivan Sache, 12 March 2014

Symbols of Tardajos

The flag of Tardajos (photo, photo) is prescribed by a Decree adopted on 26 December 2000 by the Government of the Province of Burgos and published on 22 January 2001 in the official gazette of the Province of Burgos.
The flag is described as follows:

Flag: Quadrangular flag, made of three horizontal stripes: red (2), blue (1) and green (1). In the middle of the flag is placed the municipal coat of arms.

The coat of arms of Tardajos is prescribed by a Decree adopted on 30 September 1998 by the Government of the Province of Burgos and published on 10 October 1998 in the official gazette of Castile and León, No. 196 (text). Adopted on 26 November 1997 by the Municipal Council, the proposed coat of arms was submitted to the Royal Academy of History, whose proposals of amendments were accepted by the Municipal Council.
The coat of arms is described as follows:

Coat of arms: Per pale, 1. Gules two cauldrons with snakes all or, 2a. Vert a castle or, 2b. Azure a millstone or. The shield surmounted by a Royal crown closed.

Ivan Sache, 12 March 2014