This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haute-Savoie (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-06-30 by ivan sache
Keywords: haute-savoie |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 74
Region: Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes (Rhône-Alpes until 2014)
Traditional province: Savoy (former Intendance of Annecy; Provinces of Chablais, Faucigny and Genevois)
Bordering departments: Ain, Savoie
Bordering countries: Italy (Region Aosta Valley), Switzerland (Cantons of Geneva and Valais)

Area: 4,388 km2
Population (2016): 801,416 inhabitants

Préfecture: Annecy
Sous-préfectures: Bonneville, Saint-Julien-en-Genevois, Thonon-les-Bains
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 17 cantons, 281 municipalities.

The department is named ("Upper Savoy") after the former Duchy of Savoy, incorporated to France in 1860.

Ivan Sache, 14 January 2018

Flag of Haute-Savoie


Flag of Haute-Savoie - Image by Ivan Sache, 24 March 2020

The department of Haute-Savoie has no proper flag but the traditional flag of Savoy, red with a white cross.
For the sake of differentiation from the neighboring department of Savoie, for instance in sports events, a flag of Savoy is sometimes used with the writing "Haute-Savoie" added on the cross' horizontal arms (photo).

Ivan Sache, 24 March 2020