This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality (South Africa)

KwaZulu-Natal Province

Last modified: 2014-01-04 by bruce berry
Keywords: south africa | kwazulu-natal | ethekwini | dome | city hall |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Martin Grieve, 28 Apr 2006

  See also:

eThekwini flag (2000 - )

eThekwini is located in KwaZulu-Natal province on the east coast of South Africa and comprises the former municipal areas of Durban, Westville, Pinetown, Umhlanga Rocks, Umkomaas and Amanzimtoti. It is the third largest metropolitan area in South Africa.

The flag used by eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality is the same as that adopted by the former Durban Metropolitan Council after 1996 but adding the name of the municipality under the charge. This flag is based on the municipal logo and comprises a dark blue field, in the centre of which is a representation of the dome of the Durban City Hall in light blue with a white outline. "eThekwini Municipality" is written in bold letters in white under the Dome. The City Hall is the seat of municipal government and was built in 1910 and is almost an exact replica of the city hall of Belfast in Northern Ireland. Blue is the corporate colour of the municipality and symbolises the city's importance as a tourism destination based on its coastline and beaches.
Bruce Berry, 28 Apr 2006