This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Vila Nova da Barquinha Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Vila Nova da Barquinha, Distrito de Santarém

Last modified: 2014-11-15 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: vila nova da barquinha | tree | barrel | ship | barge |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Vila Nova da Barquinha municipality] 2:3 image by André Serranho, 24 Aug 1999, modified by Klaus-Michael Schneider
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a quarterly of white and black field.
António Martins-Tuválkin,

Coat of arms

[Vila Nova da Barquinha municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta,

The coat of arms is Azure, between two trees marron fruited sable, flanked by two barrels Argent, a sail ship of the first rigged Argent and flagged Gules, over three wavy fesses Argent-Azure-Argent. Mural crown Argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA NOVA DA BARQUINHA.
The coat of arms refers to the local historical importance of river transport ("barquinha" means "little barge"), obscured by the railroad in the mid 19th century This town is located in a strategical point upstream of the Tejo, connecting Lisboa and the coast with the major axis of the hinterland. When railroad was build, the main junction of the national network was located in the very nearby Entrocamento.
My idea is that the brown (maroon) charges in this coat of arms are in fact golden / yellow, in a usual heraldic and typographic error, but we’re still waiting confirmation.

António Martins, 24 Aug 1999

Flag adopted and published in Diário do Governo : II Série on 2 April 1951
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Aug 1999

Version without Coat of Arms

[Vila Nova da Barquinha municipality plain] 2:3 image by António Martins-Tuválkin, Apr 2010

Presentation of Vila Nova da Barquinha

Vila Nova da Barquinha municipality had 7420 inhabitants in 1990, and it is divided in 5 communes, covering 49 km². It belongs to the Santarém District and to the old province of Ribatejo.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 24 Aug 1999

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here