This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nieuw-Beijerland (The Netherlands)

Korendijk municipality, Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: nieuw-beijerland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Nieuw-Beijerland flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 23 Nov 2003
adopted 27 Jun 1972 See also:

Nieuw-Beijerland former municipality

Nieuw-Beijerland is a former municipalities, since 1984 part of Korendijk municipality in Zuid-Holland province.
Nieuw-Beijerland had (1968) 1.800 inhabitants along the Spui-river in the "Hoekschewaard". Settlements: Goudswaard (seat), Nieuw-Beijerland and Zuidzijde.
Flag: three horizontal stripes blue - white - blue, proportioned 1:2:1; on the white stripe at the hoist a square chequy with white and blue lozenges.
Colors and figures derived from the municipal arms. The flag reminds of the flag of Oud-Beijerland (not on FOTW, see Vexilla Nostra No. 51 (1970)), and the yellow-blue lozengy pattern of Zuid-Beijerland of the banner of arms of Zuid-Beijerland (not on FOTW, see Vexilla Nostra VIII (1973)) Adopted 27 Jun 1972 by municipal resolution.
The western part of the Hoekschewaard is named Beijerland.
The Hoekschewaard was named after the old manor of Hoeke, a.k.a. Puttershoek, which drowned in 1421 and was partially made dry since 1436 (that is: during the reign of the House of Bavaria in the county of Holland).
Source: Vexilla Nostra No. 93 (1978).
Jarig Bakker, 23 Nov 2003