This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Piershil (The Netherlands)

Korendijk municipality, Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: piershil |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Piershil flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 23 Nov 2003
adopted 1 Jun 1978 See also:

Piershil former municipality

Piershil is a former municipality, since 1984 part of Korendijk municipality in Zuid-Holland province.
Piershil had 1.050 inhabitants along the Spui-river in the "Hoekschewaard". Settlements: Piershil (seat), Dam, Oosthoek, and
Zwartsluisje. The western part of the Hoekschewaard is named Beijerland.
The Hoekschewaard was named after the old manor of Hoeke, a.k.a. Puttershoek, which drowned in 1421 and was partially made dry since 1436 (that is: during the reign of the House of Bavaria in the county of Holland).
Flag: seven wavy horizontal stripes of white and green.
This flag is identical to the municipal arms, adopted 1 Jun 1978.
Source: Vexilla Nostra No. 93 (1978).
Jarig Bakker, 23 Nov 2003

Piershil coat of arms

[Piershil Coat of Arms] International Civic Arms :

Granted 24 Dec 1817.