This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Reeuwijk (The Netherlands)

Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: reeuwijk |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Reeuwijk municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 7 Feb 1958 See also:

Reeuwijk municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 12.904; area: 50,10 km². Settlements: Reeuwijk (seat), Driebruggen, Hogebrug, Reeuwijk-Brug, Reeuwijk-Dorp, Sluipwijk, Tempel, Waarder.
On 1 Jan 1989 the settlements of Driebruggen and Waatder (from the former municipality of Driebruggen) were added to the municipality of Reeuwijk. As a result the municipal arms were changed, but the flag stayed the same.
Flagdescription: four equally wide horizontal stripes of white, red, yellow, and blue.
This flag was adopted 7 Feb 1958. The colors are derived from the former municipal arms.
Source: Sierksma's Nederlands Vlaggenboek, 1962 [sie62].

Reeuwijk Coat of Arms

Reeuwijk Coat of Arms image from the Reeuwijk municipal site.

Granted 7 Dec 1989. The head on the white part belongs to a deer (Dutch: ree), making it canting. The (male) ducks on the blue part are "woerden", from the municipal arms of the former municipality of Waarder (abolished 1964).