This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oud-Beijerland (The Netherlands)

Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: oud-beijerland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Oud Beijerland municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 24 Oct 1969.
  See also:

Oud-Beijerland municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 23.157; area: 19,60 km². Settlements: Oud-Beijerland (seat), Vuurbaken, Zinkweg.
This region was inhabited in ancient times, until the St. Elizabeth floods wiped it away in 1421. Only in 1557 it became habitable again. Count Lamoraal van Egmond acquired this area and named it after his wife, Sabina van Beijeren.

Flagdescription: Three stripes blue - white - blue, proportioned 1:2:1; over the white stripe towards the hoist a yellow square with two red chevrons.
The colors are analogous to the municipal arms of Oud-Beijerland. The two chevrons are derived from the arms of Egmond. Officially there are four red chevrons on the Egmond-arms, but for esthetical reasons only two are used for the flag.
Flag adopted by municipal resolution on 24 Oct 1969.

Oud Beijerland Coat of Arms

[Oud Beijerland Coat of Arms] image from the municipal website.

Granted 7 Jul 1967.