This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pyrénées-Atlantiques (Department, France)

Last modified: 2022-03-06 by ivan sache
Keywords: pyrenees-atlantiques |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 64
Region: Nouvelle-Aquitaine (Aquitaine until 2014)
Traditional provinces: Béarn, Guyenne and Gascony
Bordering departments: Gers, Landes, Hautes-Pyrénées
Bordering country: Spain (Autonomous Community of Aragon [Province of Huesca], Autonomous Community of Navarra, and Autonomous Community of Basque Country [Province of Guipuzcoa])

Area: 7,645 km2
Population (2017): 677,309 inhabitants

Préfecture: Pau
Sous-préfectures: Bayonne, Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 27 cantons, 546 municipalities.

The department is named after the Pyrenees mountains and the Atlantic Ocean.
Formerly known as Pyrénées-Inférieures (Lower Pyrenees), the department was renamed Pyrénées-Atlantiques on 10 October 1969.
On 1 June 1857, the municipality of Saint-Esprit was transferred from the department of Landes to the department of Pyrénées-Inférieures.

Ivan Sache, 14 November 2009