This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

De Bilt (The Netherlands)

Utrecht province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: de bilt | knmi |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

De Bilt municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 1 Jan 2001

See also:

De Bilt municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 42.311; area: 67,10 km². Settlements: Bilthoven (seat), De Bilt, Maartensdijk, Groenekan, Westbroek, Hollandse Rading.
De Bilt is the result of a merger between the former municipalities of De Bilt and Maartensdijkon 1 Jan 2001.

When sunshine has been predicted and you're hit by hailstones as big as dove-eggs you blame the weatherman on TV of course. In the Netherlands we know better: we blame the KNMI (Koninklijk Nederlands Metereologisch Instituut - Royal Dutch Metereological Institute) in De Bilt.

De Bilt is a suburb of Utrecht, and a new municipality, formed on 1 Jan 2001 by the merger of Maartensdijk en De Bilt, with its seat in Bilthoven. On 4 Dec 2000 HM Queen Beatrix  granted a new Coat of Arms to the to-be-founded municipality, together with a flag. (Usually it takes several years...).

The Coat of Arms and flag are nearly identical. The yellow - blue diagonal division is from the old Maartensdijk flag, while the St. Lawrence grill occurred on the old De Bilt flag and Coat of Arms. The old Oostbroek monastery was devoted to that saint. It was founded c. 1100 A.D., and demolished c. 1580.
Source: the De Bilt municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 2 Jun 2003

De Bilt Coat of Arms

[De Bilt Coat of Arms] image from the De Bilt municipal website.

Granted 4 Dec 2000.

De Bilt [former municipality]

De Bilt former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Maartensdijk [former municipality]

Maartensdijk former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Unofficial flag of Maartensdijk

Unofficial flag Maartensdijk Shipmate Flagchart :