This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Barneveld municipality (The Netherlands)

Gelderland province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: barneveld |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Barneveld municipality image by Shipmate Flagchart :

Other Barendrecht pages: See also:

Barneveld municipality

The municipality of Barneveld has almost 50.000 inhabitants. It is made up of Barneveld town and surrouding towns and villages: Voorthuizen, Kootwijkerbroek, Garderen, Terschuur, Stroe, Zwartebroek, De Glind and Kootwijk.
The flag was adopted by municipal resolution on 12 Feb 1965. The three columns have been derived from the family-arms of J. H. Baron van Zuylen van Nievelt van de Schaffelaar, who was responsible for the construction of roads in and around Barneveld. The name of Jan van Schaffelaar is well known in Dutch history, because he jumped off the tower of Barneveld in 1482, during the "Hoekse en Kabeljauwse Twisten".
Jarig Bakker, 20 May 2003

Barendrecht Coat of Arms

Barneveld municipality image from the Barneveld municipal website.