This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Elgeyo-Marakwet County (Kenya)

Last modified: 2014-01-18 by bruce berry
Keywords: kenya | elgeyo-marakwet |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jens Pattke, 31 Aug 2013 See also:


Elgeyo-Marakwet County is located in the former Rift Valley Province in western Kenya.  The largest town is Iten.

Kabete MP George Muchai has called upon the 47 governors to constitute their own flags to identify each county instead of flying the national flag.  He said in counties like Chile the National Assembly has passed law for
each of the county governments to have its own flag to identify the county leadership.  “I have seen every governor is fighting for the right to national flag and that should not be the case as the flag signifies national unity,” said Muchai.  He said the county flags should then be raised outside county assemblies and all of them outside the National Assembly to show how many counties the country has.  “We should have all the 47 flags outside our Parliament to signify our devolved system of government,” said Muchai. He said the move will help senators, MPs, governors and ward representatives to understand the role each has to play and the relevance of the counties to the national development.
Jens Pattke, 31 Aug 2013

Description of the Flag

The flag of Elgeyo-Marakwet County comprises three equal horizontal stripes of ochre (brown), white and green.  The county emblem is placed in the centre of the flag.
Jens Pattke, 31 Aug 2013