This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity (U.S.)

Last modified: 2015-05-09 by rick wyatt
Keywords: united states | fraternity | delta kappa epsilon |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[U.S. fraternity flag - Delta Kappa Epsilon] image by Joe McMillan, 11 March 2001

See also:

Delta Kappa Epsilon

Delta Kappa Epsilon, whose members are known as "Dekes," is probably the most successful and influential of all fraternities. Founded at Yale in 1844, its members have included six Presidents of the United States (including both Bushes), four Vice Presidents, J. P. Morgan, William Randolph Hearst, the composer Charles Ives, and the polar explorer Robert Peary, who took a Deke flag to the North Pole with him in 1909. The flag is a vertical tricolor, blue, yellow, and red, with a black lion rampant on the center. See
Joe McMillan, 11 March 2001

Seen on the famous black and white photograph (original in the National Archives, Washington) by one of five of Peary's companions holding staff-mounted flags on an ice hill--blocks piled up by a pressure ridge--at the pole. It is the flag of Peary's fraternity as an undergraduate at Bowdoin College in Maine. After his return, Peary was feted at a dinner given by the DKE Club of New York and displayed this flag there.
Joe McMillan, 2 January 2004