This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Przeworsk town (Poland)

Przeworsk county, Podkarpackie voivodship

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: przeworsk |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Przeworsk City flag]
See also:

Przeworsk city flag

Przeworsk [ˈpʂɛvɔrsk] is a town in south-eastern Poland with 15,737 inhabitants (2007). Since 1999 it has been in the Subcarpathian Voivodeship, and is the capital of Przeworsk County. The ancient Przeworsk culture was named after the town. Przeworsk was a settlement since the 10th century, though evidence of human settlement in the general area is even older. It is first mentioned in historical records from the 13th century, and was granted its town charter in 1394. From 1772 the town was part of the Habsburg Monarchy where it remained until 1918 when an independent Poland was restored.

Przeworsk is located on the European route E40, it also is an important railway junction, with trains going into three directions - east (towards Przemyśl), west (towards Rzeszów) and north (towards Stalowa Wola).

Yiddish name: פּרשעוואָרסק

The Pshevorsk Hasidic dynasty, which originated in Przeworsk, is now mainly located in Antwerp, Belgium.

Tourist attractions:

  • Basilica, built in the 15th century with a unique chapel - Tomb of Jesus Christ (the same as in Jerusalem)
  • Church of the Bernardine Order
  • Palace and park of Lubomirski family
  • The only truly "vivid" open air museum in Poland, with wooden houses from Przeworsk and the surrounding region.
  • The Wąskotorówka Train (narrow gauge railway) going from Przeworsk to Dynów. (wiki)

Arms and flag adopted on March 20, 2003 (resolution # VII/45/2003)

Flag: rectangular, composed of two horizontal bands, white over blue.

Przeworsk city Coat of Arms

[Przeworsk City coat of arms]
Arms: on the blue shield a CoA of the noble "Leliwa" clan (Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth): silver crescent moon and golden six-pointed star.