This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Auckland traditional province (New Zealand)

Last modified: 2013-06-22 by ian macdonald
Keywords: auckland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Auckland province

[The old province of] Auckland is nowadays never really heard of. Although I believe it was the province extending across from halfway between Auckland and New Plymouth to the northern edge of Hawkes Bay, it tends to be thought of as two areas Waikato / Bay of Plenty and Gisborne. I think Gisborne may have had its own provincial government very briefly, but I'm not certain.
James Dignan, 6 May 1999

I've seen this province referred to both as South Auckland and Auckland, although I've a feeling that the "south" was attached to it to stop confusion with the city of Auckland and Northland (once known as North Auckland). As to which was the official name, I'm not sure.
James Dignan, 6 May 1999

The term South Auckland has been used in a broad sense to describe the area south of the city of Auckland and its associated urban areas. Principally it has indicated the area now known as the Waikato.
Neale Rosanoski, 3 October 1999