This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Honduras - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: honduras | bay islands | swan islands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The CIA Fact book for 2000 lists the following:
Administrative divisions: 18 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Atlantida, Choluteca, Colon, Comayagua, Copan, Cortes, El Paraiso, Francisco Morazan, Gracias a Dios, Intibucá, Islas de la Bahia, La Paz, Lempira, Ocotepeque, Olancho, Santa Barbara, Valle, Yoro.
Phil Nelson, 28 August 2000

As far as I know some of the departments have a flag and others don't. Intibucá doesn't have flag, neither arms, but after some years the arms of the Development Committee of Intibucá is used by the department authorities as departmental arms. I believe that flags of the departments capitals are used as departmental flags when is needed, but not all the capitals have flag. Comayagua, Tegucigalpa (Francisco Morazan), Trujillo (Colon) and perhaps some others have flag. If I don't remember wrong a departmental flag was published in Estandarte.
Jaume Ollé, 29 August 2000