This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Retalhuleu Department (Guatemala)

Departamento de Retalhuleu

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: guatemala | retalhuleu | palm | star |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jaume Ollé

See also:


  • Champerico
  • El Asintal
  • Nuevo San Carlos
  • Retalhuleu
  • San Andrés Villa Seca
  • San Felipe
  • San Martín Zapotitlán
  • San Sebastián
  • Santa Cruz Muluá
  • Other sites:


    Based on communication of the departmental governor Mr Carlos E. Quinones on 22 April 1997.
    The green stands for the luxuriant vegetation, and the white for the foam of the waves that bathe the department’s shore. The coat of arms contains the palm, departmental symbol; 9 stars representing the municipalities (Champerico, San Sebastián, Santa Cruz Mulua, San Martín Zapotitlan, San Felipe, El Asintal, Nuevo San Carlos, San Andrés Villa Seca and Retalhuleu, this last, the capital, being represented by a larger star); in the third quarter is shown the flag of Guatemala in diagonal to indicate allegiance to this country; and in the fourth field the five volcanoes illuminated by a brilliant sun symbolize the Central American unity.
    Jaume Ollé and Fred Drew from Flag Report

    Coat of Arms

    image by Jaume Ollé