This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Chiquimula Department (Guatemala)

Departamento de Chiquimula

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: guatemala | chiquimula |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Fred Drews, 12 July 2014

See Also:


  • Camotán
  • Chiquimula
  • Concepción Las Minas
  • Esquipulas
  • Ipala
  • Jocotán
  • Olopa
  • Quezaltepeque
  • San Jacinto
  • San José La Arada
  • San Juan Ermita
  • Other Sites:


    The department of Chiquimula (370,891 inhabitants in 2014; 237,600
    ha), nicknamed the Pearl of the East, is located in eastern Guatemala,
    bordering El Salvador and Honduras.
    Ivan Sache, 16 May 2017


    The flag, inaugurated on 11 September 2012, was designed by Carlos Humberto Guerra Pinto, member of the municipality of Ipala, winner of a public contest organized by the cable TV program "Chiquimula De Visión".
    Ivan Sache, 16 May 2017

    Coat of Arms

    image by Fred Drews, 12 July 2014

    The coat of arms is made of a Spanish shield.
    The column is a symbol of arts.
    The flame is a symbol of Chiquimula, as a source of enlightenment.
    The mountain alludes to the title of the town, Chiquimula de la Sierra.
    The rivers represent the hydrological resources of the department.
    The two birds recall the etymology of Chiquimula, meaning "bird land".
    Or recalls the mining resources, traditions and culture.
    The 11 white stars represent the 11 municipalities forming the department. Accordingly, Chiquimula is "the first department to have a flag representing all its municipalities".

    Source: - Mi Chiquimula, 11 September 2012
    Ivan Sache, 16 May 2017