This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alta Verapaz Department (Guatemala)

Departamento de Alta Verapaz

Last modified: 2021-08-25 by rob raeside
Keywords: guatemala | alta verapaz | verapaz | coban | texulutlan | quetzal | crown | rope |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Jaume Ollé

See Also:


  • Chahal
  • Chisec
  • Cobán
  • Fray Bartolomé de las Casas
  • Lanquín
  • Panzós
  • Raxruha
  • San Cristóbal Verapaz
  • San Juan Chamelco
  • San Pedro Carchá
  • Santa Catalina La Tinta
  • Santa Cruz Verapaz
  • Santa María Cahabón
  • Senahú
  • Tactic
  • Tamahú
  • Tucurú
  • Other sites:


    Communication of the departmental governor Sir Jorge Mendez Castaneda on 21 April 1997: "Based on the mythical coat of arms of the city of Coban supposedly granted by Charles I of Spain. Until 1936 the world image showing the American continent carried the emblem of the Dominican order that had Christianized the region called then Texulutlán. The arms were recently revised by the lawyer Agustín Estrada Monroy, who included some quetzal bird feathers, a royal crown and a rope with knots on its ends, but his proposal was found too different from the original design from Charles I and rejected."
    Jaume Ollé and Fred Drew from Flag Report

    Coat of Arms

    image by Jaume Ollé