This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kalambaka (Municipality, Greece)


Last modified: 2015-05-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: kalambaka |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Presentation of Kalambaka

The municipality of Kalambaka (21,991 inhabitants in 2011; 16,520 ha) was established in the 2011 local government reform as the merger of the former municipalities of Aspropotamos (Ασπροπόταμος, 419 inh.), Chasia (Χάσια, 3,736 inh.), Kalambaka (12,000 inh.), Kastania (Καστανιά, 1,619 inh.), Kleino (Κλεινό, 2,301 inh.), Malakasi (Μαλακάσι, 2,090 inh.), Tymfaia (Τυμφαία, 2,103 inh.), and Vasiliki (Βασιλική, 2,461 inh.)

A Greek inscription on the wall of one of the town's oldest churches (Saint John the Baptist) testifies to the existence of an ancient Greek settlement under the name Aiginion.
The town is built on the location of the ancient city of Aiginion. It is attested since the 10th century, when it was known as Stagoi, a Byzantine fortress and bishopric.
The name "Kalambaka", coined six or seven centuries ago, is of Turkish origin, meaning "a powerful fortress". The municipality is mostly known for the famous Meteora monasteries.

Olivier Touzeau, 26 October 2013

Former municipality of Kalambaka


Former flag of Kalmabaka - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 26 October 2013

The flag of the municipality (Kokkonis website) was yellow with the municipality emblem, showing the Meteora landscape in black lines, and the municipality's below.
The new municipality uses another emblem, including a photo of Meteora and its name in Greek and English.

Olivier Touzeau, 26 October 2013