This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Greenland - Subdivisions (Denmark)

Last modified: 2020-02-16 by christopher oehler
Keywords: greenland | denmark |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Greenland is in the process of merging municipalities into four large new ones as indicated in this map:
The names in the map are just indications of geographical location "north", "centre", "east-west" and "south".
The new municipalities will be in force from 1 January 2009. They are in the process of adopting new names, new arms or logos.
Here are the new names and news reports on their arms:
- Qaasuitsup Kommunia (in the North) - Arms at
- Qeqqata Kommunia (in the centre) - Arms at and more suggestions at
- Kommuneqarfik Sermersooq (spanning east-west) - Arms at
- Kujalleq (in the south) - Arms at
Whether these arms will fly on flags, I do not know.
Previous arms and flags will became obsolete.
Jan Oskar Engene, 6 September 2008

Greenland is divided into four municipalities since 1 January 2009: Kujalleq, Qaasuitsup, Qeqqata, and Sermersooq. The large Northeast Greenland National Park is not part of any municipality (unincorporated). The Thule Air Base (Pituffik), located as an enclave within Qaasuitsup municipality, is also an unincorporated area and does not belong to any municipality. It is the United States Air Force northernmost base.
Zoltan Horvath, 1 March 2011

Since 01.01.2018 Greenland has two new municipalities - Avannaata and Qeqertalik, which came to existence as the Qaasuitsup municipality was dissolved. So, now Greenland has 5 municipalities:

1. Avannaata Kommunia (01.01.2018) [Northern Municipality]
2. Kommune Kujalleq (01.01.2009) [Southern Municipality]
3. Kommune Qeqertalik (01.01.2018) [Municipality with Islands]
4. Qeqqata Kommunia (01.01.2009) [Central Municipality]
5. Kommuneqarfik Sermersooq (01.01.2009) [Iceland Municipality]

These are the official names of the municipalities.
Valentin Poposki, 8 October 2019