This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Région, France)

Last modified: 2018-01-15 by ivan sache
Keywords: provence-alpes-cote d'azur |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of Region PACA - Image by Pierre Gay, 16 January 1999

See also:

Administrative data

Departments: Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, Hautes-Alpes, Alpes-Maritimes, Bouches-du-Rhône, Var, Vaucluse
Bordering Regions: Occitanie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Bordering countries: Italy, Monaco
Traditional provinces: Provence, Dauphiné, County of Nice, Comtat Venaissin

Area: 31,400 km2
Population (1995): 4,428,200 inhabitants
Regional prefecture: Marseille

Flag of Region PACA

On 12 January 1999, Michel Vauzelle, President of the Regional Council, presented the Region's new flag. It combines the traditional gold and red vertical stripes of Provence, the dolphin of Dauphiné and the eagle of the County of Nice.

Philippe-Pierre Darras, 18 January 1999

Former flag of Region PACA


Former flag of Region PACA - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 24 October 2017

The flag adopted at least in 1997 features the map of the region, with the departments represented in different colours, as follows:
- Alpes-de-Haute-Provence: blue;
- Hautes-Alpes: purple;
- Alpes-Maritimes: orange;
- Bouches-du-Rhône: green;
- Var: yellow;
- Vaucluse: red.
The three blue wavy lines represent the Mediterranean Sea.

Ivan Sache & Dominique Cureau, 28 September 2017

First flag of Region PACA

[Flag]         [Flag]

First flag of Region PACA, two versions - Images by Olivier Touzeau, 28 September 2017

The first flag of the Region (photo) was made of black and white lines with the pixellized map of the region. A flag made of the the full logo (same map with a different number of lines and with the name of the Region) was possibly a variant seen in a flagmaker's catalogue.

Olivier Touzeau, 28 September 2017