This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Meurthe-et-Moselle (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-03-25 by ivan sache
Keywords: meurthe-et-moselle |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 54
Region: Grand Est (Lorraine until 2014)
Traditional province: Lorraine
Bordering departments: Meuse, Moselle, Vosges
Bordering countries: Belgium (Province of Luxembourg), Luxembourg

Area: 5,246 km2
Population (2019): 733,821 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nancy
Sous-préfectures: Briey, Lunéville, Toul
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 23 cantons, 592 municipalities.

The department is named after rivers Meurthe (170 km) and Moselle (550 km), both tributary to the Rhine.
The department was created on 7 September 1871, encompassing the parts of the former departments of Meurthe (arrondissements of Lunéville, Nancy and Toul) and Moselle (arrondissement of Briey) that remained French by the Treaty of Francfort. On 1 January 1997, the municipality of Han-devant-Pierrepont was transferred from Meuse to Meurthe-et-Moselle.

Ivan Sache, 12 April 2019

Flag of Meurthe-et-Moselle

The services of the Departmental Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle confirmed on 17 April 2019 that the Council does not use any flag.

Olivier Touzeau, 23 April 2019

Former flag of the General Council


Former flag of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle - Image by Ivan Sache, 30 September 2009

The former flag of the General Council of Meurthe-et-Moselle, used until 2007 and ther adoption of a new logo is white with the Council's former logo.
The logo shows, on a white background, a stylized blue ampersand, also recalling the map of the department, placed over a yellow square flanked by "CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL" (top) and "MEURTHE ET MOSELLE" (bottom) in blue letters.

Ivan Sache & Pascal Vagnat, 30 September 2009