This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cher (Department, France)

Last modified: 2021-03-19 by ivan sache
Keywords: cher |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 18
Region: Centre-Val de Loire
Traditional provinces: Berry, Bourbonnais, Orléanais
Bordering departments: Allier, Creuse, Indre, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Nièvre

Area: 7,235 km2
Population (2016): 307,110 inhabitants

Préfecture: Bourges
Sous-préfectures: Saint-Amand-Montrond, Vierzon
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 19 cantons, 290 municipalities.

The department is named after river Cher (350 km), a tributary to the Loire.

Ivan Sache, 11 April 2019

Banner of arms of Cher


Flag of Cher - Image by Olivier Touzeau, 30 October 2020

The banner of arms of Cher (photo) is "Azure semy de fleur-de-lis or a bordure engrailed gules overall a fess wavy argent".
These arms were assigned in 1950 by Jacques Meurgey de Tupigny & Robert Louis in Marques symboliques des départements français. Since the department is formed by a part of Berry, its coat of arms features the arms of Berry ancien crossed by a fess wavy that symbolizes river Cher, the department's namesake.

Olivier Touzeau & Ivan Sache, 1 November 2020