This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cosanga Parish (Napo, Ecuador)

Last modified: 2021-08-26 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: napo | quijos | cosanga |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Ivan Sache, 17 September 2018

See also:


The parish of Cosanga (505 in inhabitants in 2010) was established on 10 March 1961.

The Cosanga volcanoes are a group of five volcanoes identified in 2009 by Minard Hall and Patricia Mothes, from the Geophysical Institute of Ecuador's National Polytechnic School, between the villages of Cosanga and Baeza. Named Centro Pumayacu, Lavas de Bermejo, El Dorado, Domos de Huevo de Chivo, and Centro Cosanga, these hitherto undetected volcanoes add to the impressive list of more than 50 Ecuadorian volcanoes, 12 of them being under permanent monitoring by the aforementioned institute.The Cosango volcanoes, lower in elevation than the "big" Ecuadorian volcanoes (Cotopaxi, Chimborazo, Imbabura...) have three unique features: they are located far away (40 km) from the Cordillera Real, their chemical composition is rich in silica, and they are lined on a series of faults.
BBC, 18 December 2009
Ivan Sache
, 17 September 2018

The Flag

The flag of Cosanga is horizontally divided celestial blue-yellow-green.
Parish website
Ivan Sache
, 17 September 2018