This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jandelsbrunn Municipality (Germany)

Gemeinde Jandelsbrunn, Landkreis Freyung-Grafenau, Bayern

Last modified: 2022-07-30 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: jandelsbrunn | fleur-de-lis(yellow/black) | balls(7) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Jandelsbrunn municipal banner] 5:2 image by Jörg Majewski, 25 July 2022
See also:

Jandelsbrunn Municipality

Jandelsbrunn Banner

It is a yellow-black-yellow vertical triband. The coat of arms is shifted towards the top.
Source: this online catalogue
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 July 2022

Jandelsbrunn Coat of Arms

Shield parted per pale of Sable and Or, above a fleur-de-lis in counterchanged tinctures, below seven balls ordered 4:3 also in counterchanged tinctures.
The balls are representing the seven royal villages (local language: künische Dörfer), which were first mentioned in 1472. Those had been Heindlschlag, Rosenberg, Aßberg, Grund, Wollaberg, Hintereben and Jandelsbrunn. They were founded by the Bishops of Passau in order to change woods to pastures and space for settlements. The villages were sold in 1487 to the Austrian Lordship of Rannariedl and repurchased by the bishopric in 1765. The epithet "royal" is alluding to the fact that those villages had belonged to the Habsburg monarchy for centuries. The fleur-de-lis is taken fom the arms of the Counts of Salburg, who among others ruled the lordship. The family also continued the cultivation of the area between 1591 and 1723.
Source: "Unser Bayern", appendix of "Bayerische Staatszeitung", 1968, p.72
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 July 2022

Banner and arms were approved on 19 January 1968 by Minister of Interior of Bayern.
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 July 2022

back to Freyung-Grafenau cities and municipalities click here