This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Titonwan Oyate, South Dakota (U.S.)

Native American

Last modified: 2022-06-04 by rick wyatt
Keywords: titonwan oyate | south dakota | native american |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Titonwan Oyate flag] image by Vanja Poposki, 20 April 2022

See also:

The flag

Titonwan Oyate is one of three divisions of Great Sioux Nation, based manly in US state South Dakota. It is part of Oceti Sakowin Confederacy. The first division is Eastern - Santee - Dakota, the second is Middle - Yankton - Nakota, and the third is Western - Teton - Lakota. It is subdivided in seven sub-tribes: Oglala, Sicangu, Hunkpapa, Mnikowoju, Sihasapa, Oohenunpa, and Itazipco, which are presented on the flag with seven stars. They are now part of various tribal governments in South Dakota, so this is National flag for these 7 sub-tribes, not for some organized tribal government or council.

Vanja Poposki, 20 April 2022