This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Departments of Uruguay

Last modified: 2021-12-24 by rob raeside
Keywords: uruguay | departamento |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

About Uruguayan departments

Uruguay is divided in 19 "departamentos", not "intendencias". "Intendencia" is the name of the departament government.
Rodolfo Tizzi, 10 Jul 2002

The original [national] flag was a white field, with nine horizontal azure blue stripes, with El sol de Mayo (the Sun of May) in a white canton. Later the number of stripes was reduced by law to five white and four blue, for each of the nine political divisions originally forming the republic.

Today there are nineteen of these divisions called departamentos.
Dov Gutterman, 13 May 2000, quoting from