This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Independence County, Arkansas (U.S.)

Last modified: 2020-09-12 by rick wyatt
Keywords: independence county | arkansas |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Independence County, Arkansas] image by Valentin Poposki, 22 August 2020

Known Flag - indicates flag is known.
No Known Flag - indicates it is reported that there is no flag.

Municipal flags in Independence County:

See also:

Description of the flag

Independence County just adopted its symbols - flag and seal earlier this month. Flag and seal designs were unveiled at Monday night’s Independence County Quorum Court meeting. The flag was created by Dalton James, and the seal by Truls Rypern.

Flag design: “The specific symbolism for the flag is as follows: The white diamond on a blue field represents the county’s tie to Arkansas as one of the ‘mother counties.’ The two blue stripes represent the White and Black rivers. The five white stripes represent the incorporated cities: Batesville, Southside, Cave City, Cushman, and Newark. The five red stripes represent the incorporated towns: Magness, Moorefield, Oil Trough, Pleasant Plains, and Sulphur Rock. The collective 10 red and white stripes represent the row crops that are a huge resource for Independence County. The five-pronged star represents the American Revolution patriots who were buried in Independence County: Lawrence Angel, John Carothers, Benjamin Hardin, David Vance, and John Weldon. And the collective of nine stars in total represents the fact that Independence County was the ninth county to form in Arkansas”
Valentin Poposki, 22 August 2020


[Seal of Independence County, Arkansas] image by Valentin Poposki, 22 August 2020

“The seal has the abbreviated county name, along with the text ‘Gate & Key to the Ozarks.’ This text refers to Independence County’s role in the settlement of the Ozark Mountains region. The perimeter of the seal also contains two pairs of pickaxes, representing the quarries of the area. The decorative pattern on the inner border of the perimeter was inspired by the Garrott House, one of the county’s many beautiful historic buildings.
“Within the seal is a scroll inscribed with the year ‘1820,’ the year the county was established. Red was added at my [Griffin’s] request. The seal is divided into four quarters. The first quarter has a chicken with three eggs, representing poultry and agriculture in general. The second quarter has a winged wheel, a traditional symbol of transport. The winged wheel specifically represents the Batesville Regional Airport and the stock car racer Mark Martin. The third quarter has a trout to represent Independence County’s great trout fishing and other great outdoor activities by extent. The fourth quarter has two lightning bolts, representing Independence County’s connections to two sources of energy: biofuel and hydropower.”

Valentin Poposki, 22 August 2020