This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Civil Defence Force (Singapore)

Last modified: 2023-06-03 by zachary harden
Keywords: singapore | civil defence force | coat of arms (singapore) | wreath (green) | triangle (blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Civil Defence Force (Singapore)] 2:3; image by Zachary Harden, 26 September 2018

See also:


This is the organisational flag of the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF).
Herman Felani M.Y.
, 24 August 2001

A new uniformed youth organisation, the National Civil Defence Cadet Corps (NCDCC), has been established in Singapore as of this year. Their website ( details their organisational flag and badge, both of which resembles closely that of the parent organisation, the Singapore Civil Defence Force. I have yet to see the use of the flag in person though.

There are also flags for the other national cadet corps in Singapore as presented on my website, for the National Cadet Corps (NCC) and its three components; NCC Land, NCC Sea & NCC Air, and that of the National Police Cadet Corps (NPCC).
Herman Felani M.Y., 12 June 2005

Singapore today has a civil defence force rather than the usual fire service-styled organisation for its civil protection services. No fire brigades exist as a separate entity. The concept of civil defence in Singapore does include fire fighting so I think this would be related. Here is a summary of the vexillological practice of the Singapore Civil Defence Force:

The Singapore Civil Defence Force is organised into Divisions with Headquarters, two training establishments, fire stations, two full-time formations, and many other reservist units. All of these units with the exception of reservist units have a unit flag and a ceremonial flag. The ceremonial flag and general-use unit flag are similar in design with the former featuring the addition of fringes. Overall where design is concerned, the flags have plain coloured fields and the unit logo on them. Civil Defence Divisions have assigned colours (1st: yellow, 2nd: blue, 3rd: green, and 4th: red) and division headquarters and its assigned fire stations use these colours in common on their flags.

Three flags are flown at the premises of this unit, the national flag, the orange SCDF service flag, followed by the respective unit flag. Exceptions do exist for multi- services and multi-units premises though these are in the minority of cases. They do make an interesting case however. Headquarters 1st Civil Defence Division, Alexandra Fire Station, and the Singapore Police Force's Queenstown Neighbourhood Police Centre are co-located at the same premises. Four flags are flown at the main flagpoles area: the national flag, the civil defence service flag, the police service flag, and HQ 1st Civil Defence Division's unit flag in that order.

In-depth details are available on my site at and

Herman Felani M.Y., 14 September 2007