This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Freixo de Espada à Cinta Municipality (Portugal)

Concelho de Freixo de Espada à Cinta, Distrito de Bragança

Last modified: 2014-11-22 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: freixo de espada a cinta | ash | swords(2) | inescutcheons(2) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Freixo de Espada à Cinta municipality] 2:3 image by Sérgio Horta, 2 Aug 2007
See also: External links:

About the Flag

It is a fairly typical Portuguese municipal flag, with the coat of arms centred on a plain yellow field.

António Martins-Tuválkin, 2 Aug 2007

Coat of arms

[Freixo de Espada à Cinta municipality CoA] image by Sérgio Horta, 3 Aug 2007

The arms are Purpure, an ash Or leaved Vert between two swords Or pointing downwards, the whole between two inescutcheons Argent each charged with five inescutcheons Azure each charged with 13 plates set 2:3:2:3:2:1 (Portugal ancient). Mural crown Argent with four visible towers (town rank) and white scroll reading in black upper case letters "VILA DE FREIXO DE ESPADA À CINTA".
António Martins-Tuválkin, 2 Aug 2007

Flag and arms adopted and published in the official journal Diário do Governo : I Série on 27 April 1935
The municipalities name means something like "Ash with sword at belt", thus the arms are canting, but the actual etymology may be different.
Last year there was a lecture about this coat of arms in a session organized by the Lusitanian Heraldry Academy.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 2/3 Aug 2007

Version without Coat of Arms

Plain (monocoloured) Portuguese subnational flags are not allowed to have variations without arms: plain flags always carry the coat of arms.
Jorge Candeias, 18 July 1999

Presentation of Freixo de Espada à Cinta

Freixo de Espada à Cinta municipality had 4184 inhabitants in 2001 and consists of 6 communes covering 244,49 km². It is part of Bragança District, traditional province and 1999 ref. adm. region Trás-os-Montes e Alto Douro, C.C.R. / NUTS II Norte, and NUTS III Douro.
António Martins-Tuválkin, 2 Aug 2007

back to Municipalities of Portugal click here