This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Heythuysen (The Netherlands)

Limburg province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: heythuysen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Heythuysen municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 25 Feb 1992

Heythuysen other pages: See also:

Heythuysen municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 12.126; area: 58,40 km². Settlements: Heythuysen (seat), Baexem, Grathem, Kelpen-Oler.
On 1 Jan 1991 the former municipalities of Baexem, Grathem and Heythuysen merged to form the new municipality of Heythuysen.
The flag, adopted 25 Feb 1992 symbolizes all three former municipalities. The abbott's staff is the symbol of the Princess of Thorn, the Abbess of a monastery, to which Baexem and Grathem belonged. The hunting-horn is the symbol of the County of Horn, to which Heythuysen belonged.
Jarig Bakker, 20 Apr 2005

Heythuysen old flag

[Heythuysen old flag] image by Jarig Bakker, 20 Apr 2005
adopted 8 Nov 1976

Heythuysen is a former municipality in Limburg province, northwest of Roermond on the other bank of the Maas. In 1991 it merged into the new municipality with the same name.
Flag: blue, with in top hoist a yellow square canton charged with three red horns, placed 2,1; in a fly-diagonal line three yellow roses on blue. Adopted 8 Nov 1976 by municipal resolution.
The horns are from the county of Horn, to which Heythuysen belonged until the end of the 17th century.

Nickname: "Wind" - In Heythuysen (aka "Petit Paris") people thought highly of themselves - but it was much ado about wind, really!

Source: Derkwillem Visser's "Gemeentevlaggen en Wapens Koninkrijk der Nederlanden", 2001.
"Groot Schimpnamenboek van Nederland", by Dirk van der Heide, 1998.
Jarig Bakker, 20 Apr 2005

Regarding 'Roggel en Neer', 'Heythuysen', 'Hunsel' en 'Haelen': at the first of January in 2007 these four merged into Leudal.
Ruth Vennekens, 16 Nov 2007

Heythuysen Coat of Arms

[Heythuysen Coat of Arms] image from .

Granted 14 Jul 1992.