This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kloosterburen (The Netherlands)

De Marne municipality, Groningen province

Last modified: 2018-12-15 by rob raeside
Keywords: kloosterburen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Kloosterburen flag] by Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004
adopted 25 Oct 1976

See also:

Kloosterburen former municipality

Kloosterburen is a former municipality in Groningen province, since 1990 part of De Marne municipality. There were 2.000 inhabitants in the settlements Kloosterburen (seat), Bokum, Het Bultje, Hornhuizen, Kleine Huisjes, Kruisweg, and Molenrij. Unknown to the inhabitants was that the soil was very good for potato-growing, because they only grew wheat, and when they didn't do that they left the soil to Frisians...
Nickname: "Stiefkoppen", even if they knew they had it wrong they would never admit it.
Its name was derived from the monastery ("klooster") Sint Nicolai, or Oldeklooster in de Marne, devoted to St. John the Evangelist, and a nunnery: 't Nijenklooster.
Flags: yellow with at 1/3 flaglength a vertical red trapezium, with a blue disk of 1/2 flagheight charged with a white chalice, emanating from which a white coiled snake.
Adopted 25 Oct 1976 by municipal resolution.
Source: Derkwillem Visser: Gemeentevlagen en wapens Koninkrijk der Nederlanden, 2001.
Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004

Kloosterburen Coat of Arms

[Kloosterburen Coat of Arms] by Jarig Bakker, 19 Sep 2004
Granted 12 Apr 1911

The lower part of the shield is from the arms of the extinct familt Tamminga, which had the Tammingaborch in Hornhuizen in this municipality; it was demolished in 1805.
Source: Sierksma's Nederlandse Gemeentewapens, 1960.