This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bayelsa State (Nigeria)

Last modified: 2021-01-02 by bruce berry
Keywords: bayelsa | nigeria |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

image by Valentin Poposki and Tomislav Todorovic, 13 Nov 2020

See also:


Bayelsa State is the southernmost state in Nigeria in the core of the Niger Delta, between Delta State and Rivers State. The state was formed on 01 October 1996 from part of the Rivers State and is thus one of the newest states of the Nigerian federation.  Its capital is at Yenagoa. 
Valentin Poposki,  13 Nov 2020

Bayelsa State flag

The flag of Bayelsa State is divided vertically into two with a plain white stripe at the hoist.  The fly half is divided into three equal horizontal stripes of indigo, red and green.  There are three white five point stars, one on each stripe, adjacent to the centre.
Valentin Poposki,  13 Nov 2020

image sent by Valentin Poposki,  13 Nov 2020

The state also has adopted a coat of arms.
Valentin Poposki,  13 Nov 2020

image by Jaume Ollé, 24 Dec 2008  (reconstructed from photographs)

Previously the unofficial state flag was a horizontal tricolour of green, white and red, the significance of which is unknown.
Jaume Ollé, 24 Dec 2008